Late Night Promises

I guess you could say we’ve known each other for as long as we’ve known ourselves. When thinking back on the days of my youth, the earliest important memories are connected to you. But even now after all these years not all layers of mystique have peeled off, and the temptation to fully comprehend you – to know your every button, passionately motivates me.

Sebastian.

**************************************************************

“Come on babe, tell me! where are we going for my birthday?” I ask with unraveling excitement. But he won’t give in that easily: “I told you, pack light. We don’t need much.”

“So we’re going somewhere near? Like a spa or something” I try again while leaning on the window, watching the cold rough weather that Estonian winters are well known for and I’m certain my voice betrays a line of disappointment.

“Babe, just put your faith in me, you’re gonna love it!”

“Aren’t you confident now, Sebastian?” I rhetorically ask with a playful smile upon my lips. He seems to surrender.. :”In fact, forget about the packing, I’m calling the cab right now.” I look at him like a poker player trying to read his bluff as he casually reaches into his jacket and declares: “besides.. everything I want you to wear is right here,” revealing a box of the new Victoria’s Secret line they´re yet to release. “So are we going or staying?”

****** –30 minutes later– *****

“Josephine! Are you ready?” I hear him tease me with his rough voice, he knows I can’t possibly be ready..

“Hold on, I can’t find my favorite shoes, the red ones with spikes, you know?”

“Honey, didn’t I tell you? you were supposed to pack only the things you need. The things you CAN’T live without I packed last night.”

The 20 minute taxi ride continues with me trying every trick in the book to figure out our destination. But even the taxi driver seems to be in on it and shows no interest in the conversation. Finally we come to a stop.. At the coach station.. It’s hard for me to hide my disappointment as he observes my every look: “Not good enough?” 

“No no, it’s fine. Shall we?” He gives me one of his deep puppy dog looks and leans in for a passionate kiss. I suddenly realize that I don’t care where we’re going, as long as I am with this amazing man. “My Sebastian..” I think with dreamy eyes, still in doubt that he is real. That we are real.. and with his usual cool, he tells the taxi-driver: “Okay Mike, we can go to the airport now, we do have a plane to catch” and they both start laughing. “You, you … I love you!” I struggle to find words and tears of joy fill my eyes as he takes me in his embrace and says: “only for you, my dear.. But I still can’t believe you didn’t recognize my brother in the drivers seat.”

 

Leave a comment